THE MONSTRUMOLOGIST

monstrumologist

The Monstrumologist – Rick Yancey

5/5

This is the first in a series of middle-grade horror books and it’s very unique in that it is part historical fiction and part horror. It was absolutely amazing. I am personally a lover of gore (I love the Hannibal and Saw series) so this book was right up my alley. I’m not really a huge reader of middle-grade books but in my opinion, this was definitely geared more towards an older crowd.

My favourite part about this book were the descriptions. I thought Yancey did a great job especially with the fictional monsters- I had no problem imagining how they would look like in my head. It definitely added to the book as it helped the reader visualize the richness of the world created within the book.  I would definitely recommend this book to anyone of any age and I cannot wait to pick up the rest of series!

Leave a comment